Life

While I was attending Hallmark Institute of Photography, there was a volunteer project we were all fortunate enough to take part in. The Franklin County Relay for Life. This was the first time I’d had the opportunity to photograph such a unique event and it wouldn’t be the last.

Such an event is a challenge and a blessing to photograph. The raw emotion that is present at an event like that can be overwhelming to first time participants.

Two years after I graduated, in 2012, I had the chance to donate my time to the Lancaster County Relay for Life. I was there for 24 hours capturing the event and it really effected me. I couldn’t wait for the opportunity to do this event again, so when the date was announced this year, I immediately made plans to attend. June 9-10th I’ll be at Conestoga High School for Lancaster Relay.

I’m looking forward to capturing the life-saving and life-changing efforts of the caretakers, survivors, family members, and volunteers. I’ll be posting an update and full adventure post after I attend, so keep an eye out for that. If you get the chance and are able, I highly recommend volunteering, donating, or sponsoring a relayer.

Below are some images from the 2012 relay.

06-09-2012_Lancaster_County_Relay_for_Life-390.jpg

Kids_mist.jpg

Relayers_Shadow.jpg

First_lap_wide_low.jpg

-Tom

Leave a Reply

