Rediscovering Tucquan Glen

Years ago, when I was younger, my parents took me with my Uncle, David, and his kids to a place called Tucquan Glen. I was about 7 or 8 years old. I wasn’t a photographer, obviously, and I wasn’t even that interested in how beautiful the landscape was. I was more interested in cooling off in the cool, flowing water. I was a kid

Today, about twenty years later, I made the trip to Tucquan Glen once again, but for a far more creative purpose. I needed to unwind after a stressful past week and wanted to test out my new 77mm polarizing filter. When I arrived, it was raining. Not pouring down rain, just a light drizzle dripped from the cloudy skies as I began capturing my first images. I started out with my Nikkor 24-120mm f/4 G, as it’s the only 77mm threaded lens I have (and the reason I bought the filter set in the first place). This lens is great. Very versatile and my new go to for my D750.

It was absolutely beautiful. I was on my own as well. I did see three cars parked in the lot areas, but didn’t see my first person until about a quarter mile down the trail. Even though it was very cloudy, the sky was still quite bright. I went down to Lo 1.0 (expanded ISO 50) in order to get an extra stop of shutter speed, which put me between 1 second and 2 seconds depending on shade. I didn’t actually put on my polarizing filter until later, and I also put a 1-stop ND on later as well.

The breadth of the stream really caught me off guard. I’m not used to shooting flowing water with such a wide footprint outside of larger rivers like the Susquehanna. I really enjoyed the variety of shooting situations on offer and it let me get creative with some things that I don’t usually get to try.

About half a mile down the trail, I came across a gorgeous scene. The mist began rising from the recently dampened trail and provided some beautiful opportunities to capture some rare light. I always wear my waterproof hiking boots so I can really get into the water. I usually come out with my feet soaked anyway, but that’s part of the fun.

I ended up shooting more than 100 images with my D750, all with my 24-120. This is my favorite from the day. I didn’t stack the rocks, but I’m glad some awesome stranger did.
cropped-tucquan_glen_stacks1.jpgShot around 3:15pm, I was very grateful to have captured the moment the mist began to flow through the trees.

Nikon D750

  • 2.5 Seconds
  • f/11
  • 32mm
  • ISO 50
  • 1-stop ND + Polarizing filter

I can’t wait to get back there and spend more time exploring the trails including some of the higher vantages I didn’t get a chance to explore today.

-Tom

Leave a Reply

